Links:

Local Museums/Organizations

Tulare County Treasures  http://www.tularecountytreasures.org/ 

California State Genealogical Alliance
(Tulare County online resources)
csga.com

Tulare County Library
(Annie Mitchell History Room)
tularecountylibrary.org

Visalia History Blog
visaliahistory.blogspot.com

Sequoia Genealogical Society
http://tularepubliclibrary.org/genealogy-room

Tulare Historical Museum
tularehistoricalmuseum.org

Tulare County Museum   https://tularecountymuseum.org/museum/

Exeter Historical Museum   https://exeterhistoricalmuseum.com/

Porterville Historical Museum   https://www.portervillemuseum.com/

Lindsay Museum & Gallery   https://www.lindsaymuseumandgallery.org/

Mineral King Preservation Society
http://www.mineralking.org

Three Rivers Historical Museum
www.3rmuseum.org


TCHS directors and friends met for their March 2017 board meeting at the Three Rivers Historical Museum. [Photo courtesy of Tom Marshall]

 

 

General & Military Resources

Genealogy and the Law  https://www.justgreatlawyers.com/genealogy-and-the-law

Billion Graves               https://billiongraves.com/

Home Genealogy Guide for 2019   https://householdquotes.co.uk/ultimate-genealogy-guide/

Building Your Family Tree Online https://www.retailmenot.com/blog/how-to-start-your-family-tree-online.html

The Ultimate Beginner's Guide to Genealogy  https://www.dnatestingguides.com/blogs/the-ultimate-beginners-guide-to-genealogy/

DNA Testing Guide                             https://www.dnatestingguides.com

Military Indexes        http://www.militaryindexes.com/

History of Ellis Island   http://www.bbcleaningservice.com/history-of-ellis-island.html

Family Research  https://kiwisearches.com/genealogy-resources-family-background

Top 100 Genealogy Websites   http://www.genealogyintime.com/articles/top-100-genealogy-websites-of-2015-page01.html

Find My Past (Military Records)   http://www.findmypast.com/articles/anzac-day-stories/resources-search-military-records

Free Ancestry Search   http://www.FreeAncestrySearch.org

How to Do Your Genealogy
https://www.artofmanliness.com/articles/how-to-do-your-genealogy/

DNA Testing Guides   https://www.dnatestingguides.com/blogs/how-dna-testing-has-helped-family-tree-accuracy/

Researching The History Of Your Home: Learn How to Explore the History
of Your Dwelling
https://www.mortgagecalculator.org/helpful-advice/researching-home-history.php

How to Dig Into the History of Your City, Town, or Neighborhood
https://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/how-to-research-hometown-history

Family Tree Creator
https://www.dnaweekly.com/tools/family-tree-maker/

25 Best Genealogy Sites - The Definitive Guide https://www.ireviews.com/best-genealogy-sites/ 

 

 

The Genealogy Guide
https://www.thehubpost.com/a-genealogy-guide/

Genealogy Research Strategies
https://www.publicrecordsreviews.com/education-center/genealogy-research

Ultimate Guide to Genealogy Websites for Beginners
https://treemily.com/blog/great-websites-for-your-family-history-search/

6 Genealogy Projects to Interest Kids & Teens in Family History
https://blog.genealogybank.com/6-genealogy-projects-to-interest-kids-teens-in-family-history.html

Exploring Your Family Tree: Resources for Seniors to Share the Joy of
Genealogy with Their Loved Ones
https://modernretirement.org/exploring-your-family-tree-resources-for-seniors-to-share-the-joy-of-genealogy-with-their-loved-ones/

Everything You Need to Know to Make Family Trees
https://www.smartdraw.com/family-tree/

Choosing the Right Format When Writing Your Family History
https://www.thewritersforhire.com/choosing-the-right-format-when-writing-your-family-history/

Guide to Researching the History of a House   https://www.homeadvisor.com/r/a-guide-to-researching-the-history-of-a-house/

Why You Should Dig Up Your Family’s History ? and How to Do It
https://www.nytimes.com/2019/02/03/smarter-living/why-you-should-dig-up-your-familys-history-and-how-to-do-it.html

Getting Started in Genealogy
https://www.americanancestors.org/education/learning-resources/read/getting-started

19 Places to Research Your Family Tree for Free
https://www.thoughtco.com/research-family-tree-for-free-1421967

A Guide to Tracing American Indian & Alaska Native Ancestry
https://www.bia.gov/sites/bia.gov/files/assets/foia/ois/pdf/idc-002619.pdf

Making a Family Tree
https://www.playfullearning.net/resource/making-family-tree/

Census Records
https://www.archives.gov/research/genealogy/census

Genealogy Resources  https://businesscostsaver.co.uk/genealogy-resources/